News flash direct from the meeting room! 2013 Caldecott, Newbery, and other award winners announced!

Posted: January 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

Live from the Youth Media Awards announcements!

Live from the Youth Media Awards announcements!

I’m at the American Library Association’s 2013 ALA Youth Media Awards meeting in Seattle — the “premier event” in children’s book awards. Throngs of librarians and other children’s book aficionados arrived early and stood in a very long line (many with cups of Starbucks, since this is Seattle after all) to be at the announcements of the awards. This one is particularly noteworthy as it is the 75th anniversary of the Caldecott Award.
The orange glow from the swirling liquid-like images on the curved screens in the front of the room creates a warm ambience to complement the excitement. The podium is vacant until the last minute, while the 2013 ALA Youth Media Awards committee members call the winners with the news.
To get some of the news out fast, I’m only announcing the Caldecott and the Newbery here. For more details, consult the American Library Association website at, or see my “Resources” link on this site.
2013 Randolph Caldecott Award – This Is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen (Candlewick).
2013 John Newbery Award – The One and Only Ivan, written by Katherine Applegate and illustrated by Patricia Castelao (HarperCollins).


Comments are closed.